Blogging201

This Sunday evening – and who am I kidding, I went into Monday morning as well – I decided to try and play catch up on last week’s assignments in Blogging201. I feel a tad bit like a high school student again, eyes straining, trying to make up for lost time. Except I am not that late student anymore, possibly choosing to miss the assignment in exchange for a few more hours with friends. Instead, as it usually does, life has a way of prioritizing things and it has decided now would be an opportune time to slow down.

Since I haven’t officially mentioned Blogging201 here, I’ll give you the scoop now. I signed up for a course about blogging! Yes, there are courses like that and they truly are a great tool. A few weeks ago I was in a bit of a rut; trying to figure out what I wanted to write about (travel blogging is not entirely for me), wanting to communicate with others in a similar conundrum and just feeling unmotivated. With the help of many experienced and new voices within WordPress, I have become reenergized.

With that being said I have decided to post my last – ahem, five assignments –here. For those who participated in the course, I would love your input on my blog’s growth and for those who have been with me from the beginning: have you noticed any of these changes?

cropped-blogging-201

Day Six:

“Digging into social networks” has never been a strong suit of mine. I am generally more secretive when it comes to my online presences, hiding accounts here and there. This concept of choosing another medium to further develop my blogging potential was interesting to say the least. It required a lot of thought as to what website would best demonstrate me and what I want to accomplish here on WordPress.

I decided upon Tumblr because I believe it truly expresses my turbulent state of being. There is so much flux in my life, as I find myself thrown around and landing in scenarios I could have never personally envisioned. Opaquephotog-raphy has seen me through many stages – from moments of complete honesty, to others of hiding behind pretty pictures and beautiful quotes. I would like to return to the honesty, to the fresh faced teen that started the page many years ago.

Also adding to the social media and interaction aspect of the blog, I linked: Facebook, Tumblr, Google+, Instagram and Flickr to this page. I think I’ve connected enough. The goals I have set for myself are to edit and post twice a week to Flickr as I find myself a bit daunted by the taste of photo editing.

Day Seven:

Making the most of events presented for bloggers to further develop a sense of community: I found myself concurring and applauding. I can do that! I have already selected a few weekly events I am excited to be a part of! The 201 class also set out parameters to start my own event, however I have decided to just participate at the moment and join a few conferences (yes, there are those too!). The conferences, I will write about once I am in closer proximity to one.

Day Eight:

Due to the fact I may have overcompensated on Day Six, I found myself wadding in a pool of brutal complacency by Day Eight. A day about making ones blog a social media hub and I already felt accomplished. Perhaps since I made all my changes an hour before and there wasn’t a day or two for reflection, as there should have been, I found myself instead accepting a few facts:

  • My blog is in constant motion because so am I.
  • I still need to make a “Best of” page, but I am a bit apprehensive to do so.
  • Snapchat could be an interesting medium to use! Add me: snxoo

Day Nine:

Day Nine was about buddying up and inviting on additional writers. This looks like fun actually. I truly enjoy reading and learning about other opinions. Hopefully by the time this is posted I will have found a partner in crime!

Those reading this and interested in joining OSTA, shoot me a line! There are enough links on this page that I am sure we will connect.

Day Ten:

A lesson about the interaction between bloggers and readers with the use of a poll.

I am holding off on a survey at the moment, but through the short readings I definitely can see the appeal of them. Perhaps within the next month or so!

I can’t believe ten lessons have come and gone! I have taken a lot from these lessons: beginning with formatting to fit different devices and ending with writing outside of my ‘self-prescribed’ demographic. I am incredibly thankful for all the kind words and support from the 201 community, and I am also excited for the advanced course to be announced shortly.

If you have a moment, let me know in the comments below what you think of these changes!

Cheers my friends,

xo

2 thoughts on “Blogging201

  1. Hello! I just did blogging 201 as well – it was pretty helpful for the most part. I actually found 101 quite helpful too – with the caveat that some of it was quite obvious…
    I like what you’ve done to your blog – it looks great! I’m not big on social media but I’ve enjoyed my interactions with other bloggers – everyone seems to be nice on WordPress – so far…
    Anyway I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts, you’re a really good writer!

    Like

    1. I wish I had done the 101 part, I read a few reviews on it and it seemed very conducive to growing as a writer. Thank you so much for your comment and I agree; everyone seems nice so far on WordPress! For that I am truly thankful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

