Why Yes

Since November 2007, I have moved thirteen times.
Sometimes it was to a different country, other times to a different part of a city but every time staying incredibly thankful to all the individuals in my life. Even with the distances we managed to sustain our friendships.

IMG-20150723-WA0002

With each move, it brought new faces and experiences which I would otherwise have never considered. Example: at one point in my life, I was horrified by spicy food. I honestly couldn’t fathom the idea of ingesting anything on the spice chart above mild wings. Somehow, with this great disgust, I agreed to a spice challenge when I relocated back to Mississauga. In preparation for it, I discovered a love for lip burning food! Go figure! But it was because I decided to live my life trying new things instead of allowing myself to be governed by my previous beliefs.

I have lived a majority of my young adult life without thinking much of this concept, so it threw me off guard when I was asked about it: why I always say ‘Yes’ to new experiences. The question made me think more sincerely than I assume was originally intended. Never in my life had I been told not to say ‘Yes’ to new experiences (the exception of drugs, alcohol and getting into a stranger’s car when I was a child). ‘Yes’ was a reaction to me.

‘Yes’ made sense.

‘Yes’ is what brought me to where I am.
‘Yes’ is why I am, the way I am.
‘Yes’ is something I choose every day, because I know, ‘No’ is always an option.
I think that is an important truth too: there is always a ‘No’.
‘No’ can save a life. ‘No’ can refresh you.

‘No’ is just a ‘Yes’ to another choice.

So YES, I generally respond ‘Yes’ to the many choices presented to me. This is not for any particular reason other than: I am living. But neither will I discount a ‘No’, because although it is not uttered from my lips as often, it is still a choice. It is my ‘Yes’ to another option.

I am sure there are more opinions on this topic and I would love to hear them! Let’s discuss below! Until next time,

xo

Leave a Reply

